top of page
Doctor's Desk


Historical Perspective:


On April 28, 1926, fifteen premedical students at the University of Alabama met with Dr. Jack Montgomery, their premedical advisor and professor of Organic Chemistry, to formalize the organization of a new premedical honor society. Baylor University, Samford University, The University of Texas, and the University of South Carolina established chapters in 1928-29. At the first national convention at the University of Alabama on April 18, 1930, ten members representing five chapters and one petitioning group were in attendance.


From these modest beginnings, Alpha Epsilon Delta (AED) has today become the world's largest Honor Society exclusively serving premedical education, with a membership exceeding 144,000 in 180 chapters. The University of Texas chapter has over 100 members and is the university's most prestigious and selective pre-health honor society.

The Future:

We hope AED will continue to grow and expand, not just within the university but within the entire Austin community. We hope to continue to increase in numbers and command a strong presence within the greater community.

bottom of page